Grand Chess Tour

Three major Chess events are teaming up in a new tournament series with a total prize fund of just over a million dollars. The Grand Chess Tour will consist of Norway Chess in June, the Sinquefield Cup (St. Louis) in August, and the London Chess Classic in December.

In addition to prize funds of $300,000 for the individual events, $150,000 is being allocated for points earned across events, and $75,000 will be awarded to a tour champion.

The participating players for 2015 include:

  • World Chess Champion Magnus Carlsen, Norway
  • Fabiano Caruana, Italy
  • Alexander Grischuk, Russia
  • Veselin Topalov, Bulgaria
  • Viswanathan Anand, India
  • Levon Aronian, Armenia
  • Anish Giri, Netherlands
  • Hikaru Nakamura, USA

Another will be announced later and a tenth will be chosen individually for each event.

  • Comments Off on Million Dollar Chess Series